This report is regarding the San Javier Golf Society Inaugural “Roy Herbert Memorial Trophy” individual stableford qualifying competition at La Serena on Monday 7th May:

A full turnout as expected for this new event on our calendar, to commemorate our ex captain and long-time member Roy Herbert, who was much loved and is very sadly missed. Roy’s widow Linda donated the trophy and the prizes to the winner and runner up and was on hand to present them afterwards. She herself was presented with flowers by our president Barry Butterworth on behalf of the society.

There were some very high scores returned, most notably and very fitting, by Mick Hardy (a good friend of Roy).

The winners on the day were: in Division 1 First was David Archer with 40 points, second Paul Newman with 35 and third was Paul Matthews with 31. In Division 2: First came overall trophy winner Mick Hardy with 42 points, second Paul Hamlin with 39 and third Kev Parker with 38. In Division 3: First John McKay with 35, second Dave Farrington with 30 and third John Hillier with 29. Nearest the pins were won by Dave Furze, Paul Hamlin, Kev Parker and Sandra Twentyman. The Monkey was “won” by Chris Taylor. The gross 2 (for 50 euros) was not won and will roll over to our next game.

We have several upcoming games, the details of which can be seen on the calendar of our website. Full details of games will be emailed to all members. For further information on our society, to play as a guest, or to join, please phone Barry Beale on +34 649 245 889 or look at our website at and Facebook page at

Attached is a photo of the trophy winner Mick Hardy, with Linda Herbert.

The post San Javier GS – Roy Herbert Memorial Trophy appeared first on The Leader Newspaper.