Pairs better ball competition at La Serena on Wednesday 20th June:

Many thanks to our illustrious President, Mr Barry Butterworth for hosting his annual trophy competition at La Serena. Barry provided all the silverware and prizes and a full capacity turnout demonstrated the esteem in which he is held by the members of the society. Well into his 80’s Barry still plays regularly with us and his trophy is always keenly contested by the membership.

Perfect weather and the course at La Serena being (as usual) in great condition, led to some excellent results. The winners of the 2018 President’s Trophy were Ty Williams and Paul Newman with 49 points, second were Adrian Sinclair and John McCay with 48, third were Bob Gallard and Dave Farrington with 38 and fourth came Ian Price and Danny Scott on 46. Nearest the pins were won by David Archer, Dave Farrington. Gerry Frame and Barry Beale.

The gross 2 (for 50 euros) was not won and will roll over to our next game. We have several upcoming games, the details of which can be seen on the calendar of our website. Full details of games will be emailed to all members.

For further information on our society, to play as a guest, or to join, please phone Barry Beale on +34 649 245 889 or look at our website at and Facebook page at

Attached is a photo of the trophy winners Ty Williams and Paul Newman, with President Barry Butterworth in the centre.

David Archer

The post San Javier Golf Society 2018 “President’s Trophy” appeared first on The Leader Newspaper.