On a baking hot day we met at Bonalba to compete for the La Marina Masters Trophy. In general, scores reflected the oppressive conditions, although the Scottish contingent seem to revel in the high temperatures. Despite  this two of the first three places went to Sassenachs with  Barry Thorogood finishing in third place with a creditable 33 points ,just behind Bill Stobo’ s 34 points.  La marina master for 2017, however, was serial winner Gerry McCabe with 37 points, ultimately heading for his eighth handicap cut of 2017.

All other prizes went north of the border, with Graeme Buchanan taking two ntp’s and the 2’s pot and Alan Craig the other two ntp’s.

Our next meeting is at Vistabella on 28th September 0927 first tee at a cost of 35 euros. We shall be playing for the Mike Barbour memorial trophy with a Texas Scramble format. List is on the board or contact Alan on a100ac@yahoo..co.uk.

Our next social event is a quiz night at the la marina sports centre on Tuesday 10th October at a cost of 8 euros to include a choice of cottage pie or fish and chips. Contact Elspeth on elspeth4mcd@yahoo.co.uk to book your table.

The post La Marina Golf Society – The Masters Trophy appeared first on The Leader Newspaper.