We met at the well-prepared RODA course on a freezing cold and windy day to play for the first trophy of the New Year. One member was heard to comment that it was the worst weather he has encountered for golf in Spain. However, despite his comment John Lywood managed to score 32 points and win the Gold division quite comfortably.

The Silver division and, of course the New Year trophy, went to Social Secretary IAIN LYALL with a superb score of 39 points.

A NTP also went to John Lywood with Alex Leach winning a NTP and the 2’s Pot. The only other NTP went to Danny Divers.

Congratulations to Bill STOBO on his appointment a Captain and his selection of Geoff Ettridge as Vice-Captain.

Our next game is on January 24th when we shall be returning to La Finca after a gap of several years. The sheet is very full so please approach Alan Craig on a100ac@yahoo.co.uk if YOY would like to participate.

The post La Marina Golf Society New Year Trophy appeared first on The Leader Newspaper.