McCaffertys Golf Society - Cabo Roig
The Celts Club de Golf 10 year anniversary.

We celebrated our last Championship Day at La Serena last Sunday.  It was a breezy day which added to the degree of difficulty for one or two of the holes.  The green-keeping staff headed by Miguel and his team have to be congratulated on their ongoing course maintenance.  The staff in the pro-shop have everything working like a well-oiled machine, thanks are due to Bruno, Jean, and Karolina for their professionalism.  Again, to Camillus, Philip, and Terry, I am running out of superlatives, keep up the good work, it really is appreciated by the members and guests who literally just turn up on the day and enjoy their golf.  A special thanks to all those who stayed back to show their appreciation of the hard work carried out on their behalf and to recognise the winners who were present to collect their prizes.


Our Captain Logan bid farewell as captain as this was his last presentation of his year, I hope you enjoyed 2022. We presented the prizes for the previous month and the winners were. Crystal week 1, Jane Wills, 39 Kenny McGeehan 37 and Alan Ewing 36. Cat 2, Paul Raffell 42, Tom Keady 39, and Bev Buckley 38. Week 2. Cat 1, Mike Stott 35, John O’Brien 34 and Kevin Russell 33. Cat 2, Kevin Fitzpatrick 36, Martin Fitzpatrick 36 and Rob Hughes 35. Week 3. Cat 1, Ian Sadler 40 Alan Campbell 39 and Steve Hopkins 36. Cat 2, Tony Woodward 41, Yvette McGeehan 41 and Michael Sephton 39. Golf prizes, Cat 1, Clive Jenkins 40, Stuart Tosh 40 and Denis McCormack 38. Cat 2, Tom Conway 38, Sheila Coyne 38 and Billy Thomson 36.


Winners on the Championship Day, NTP’s Stuart Tosh, John O’Brien, Sue Owens, Jean Randell, Bram Numeijer and Karl Di Masio. Cat3, Steve Formby 36, Logan Nayager 36 and Niall Murray 36. Cat 2, Ronald De Vos 38, Steve Hopkins 35 and Dave Cosson 35. Cat 1, John O’Brien 36, Denis McCormack 35 Pavla Serakova. Gross Robert Smith 34. 2nd overall Richie Heaton 39, Richie also had a hole in one on the 9th . The winner on the day was Billy Thomson with 40 points. Well done one and all.