Posted on

The Celts Club de Golf Captains’ Prize Mr. James Hayes

Well it is the morning after the night before and there are plenty of sore heads afield.  What a fantastic day with 85 members competing for the honour of winning that coveted prize, the Captains.

As usual there are a number of people that need to thanked, our competitions committee under the guidance of Camillus Fitzpatrick and ably assisted by Philip Mountford and Terry Fitzgerald.  Denis McCormack and Susy Gomez for their organisation of the nights entertainment.  Jean, Paul, Karolina and all the course staff at La Serena, well done and thank you.  To Gloria, Vanessa and Marijose and all the clubhouse staff thank you.

The day began with the traditional drive-in, it was one of the most entertaining ever.  Jim a player with a natural draw, or hook some might say, subdued the nerves teed up and duly managed a clean strike, straight right into the water.

Second ball now and feeling a little apprehensive teed up, knocked the ball of the tee with his address, we all fell silent to give him a chance and yes you guessed it, straight right again.  Nearest the Captains’ drive became difficult to mark.  But Terry sorted it for us.

We played off the white and blue stakes, with a few grumbles, but the results justified the decision.  Camillus sorted the cards at La Serena and we all made our way to El Prado restaurant in San Miguel for the evening dinner dance and presentation of prizes.  Jackie Whyte provided the top class entertainment in her usual professional manner and soon had us all singing and dancing.  Thank you Jackie.

Down to the results of the day.  Our special prizes of the longest drive nearest a white line on the 11th went to Gary Conroy.  The other very special prize nearest to the Captains’ drive went to Tony Woodward after the snorkel had been brought into play.  NTP’s, went to Gary Conroy, Richie Heaton, Terry Jones and Steve Hodgett.

Cat. III winner, Jennifer McCadden 39, second, Graham Lewis 38 and third Yvette McGeehan.  Cat II winner, Terry Jones 36, second, Kevin McBride 36 and third our Captain James Hayes 35.  Cat I winner Patrick Coyne 38, second, Kenny McGeehan 37 and third Tony Davis 36.

The gross went to John Doyle O’Brien with 29.  Runner-up with 39 William Thompson and the winner of the Captains Prize for 2019 Tony Woodward 40 points.  Jim thanked all those present for their support and he also raised a glass in memory of those friends and members passed.

Posted on

End of year for Celts Club de Golf.

What a fantastic end to our competitive year of 2018.  We had our annual Christmas Hamper competition and Dinner Dance at La Serena, with over 80 participants.  The day was perfect for playing golf and the format, a pairs Texas scramble has proven over the years to be the ideal format for the tournament. 

With Camillus on babysitting duty, Philip and Terry had the event running like clock work as is their normal.  Many thanks to the competitions committee for all the work, especially throughout the year.  The course was in fantastic condition prepared to the nth degree.  Well done Wayne and your team.  Jean, Paul and Jose looked after us as usual and we really appreciate your professionalism.

Our presentation was in the clubhouse and the general manager was on hand to cater for our every need.  We were treated to a sumptuous meal which was really appreciated by all those present. 

Enhorabuena to all the backroom staff in the kitchen, the waiting staff and Bruno.  The nights entertainment was provided by our very own Jackie Whyte, who had us all up dancing until the wee hours.  It was our largest attendance for our Christmas dinner and the compliments were well received.  Thanks to all those who participated and helped make the night so very special.

Our results on the day were as follows. NTP’s Karl DiMascio , George Thomas, Kjell Mundheim, Bob Smith and Gary Conroy.  We had five hampers in total and the winning pairs were, in 5th John Walsh and Eddie Stapleton 68.2, 4th Kevin Fitzpatrick and Darren Holden 67.8, 3rd  Alan and Rose Walker 67, 2nd Kjell Mundheim and George Thomas 66.6 and the winners with a fantastic 63 Bob Smith and Gary Conroy. 

Well done to one and all.  May I take this opportunity of wishing all our members a very Happy Christmas and we look forward to meeting you all in the New Year.

The post End of year for Celts Club de Golf. appeared first on The Leader Newspaper.